The Harrisburg branch of the American Association of University women offers two annual scholarships:  the Beverly J. Smith Memorial Scholarship and the Martha M. Dohner Memorial Scholarship.  Scholarship recipients may attend any accredited college or university in Pennsylvania but must be a resident of Dauphin, Cumberland, or Perry County.  Financial need and academic achievement must be demonstrated.  An essay and references are also part of the application package.

The Beverly J. Smith Memorial Scholarship was established to honor Ms. Smith, a past president and member of the branch.  She was a nationally known and respected expert on refugee resettlement and immigration. She devoted her life to helping people of diverse nationalities begin new lives and obtain education, homes, health care, and legal advice.  Ms. Smith died unexpectedly and much too young.  Her family, friends and branch members continue to contribute to the scholarship fund in her name, a testament as to how much she meant to the community.  The branch honors her memory by offering an annual $2,500 scholarship to assist the education of a woman working towards a Bachelor’s degree and who embodies Ms. Smith’s vision.  The recipient must have earned a minimum of 60 college credits. See the 2014 application packet. The application deadline is June 1, 2014.

The Martha M. Dohner Memorial Scholarship was established by the Harrisburg Branch of the AAUW as part of our continued commitment to the community and the education of women.  Ms. Dohner was a respected member of the organization and an active community volunteer.  The branch honors her memory by assisting with the education of a woman pursuing her degree with goals that will help fulfill the mission of AAUW.  A scholarship in the amount of $1,000 is awarded annually in Ms. Dohner’s name.  The recipient must have earned at least 15 college credits. See the 2014 application packet. The application deadline is June 1, 2014.

Each year the branch forms a scholarship committee made up of branch members to oversee the application process.  Scholarship applications are made available on the AAUW Harrisburg branch website by February, and application packages are sent to the financial aid offices of colleges and universities across the Commonwealth.  Completed applications are due in May.  The committee reviews applications to ensure that all requirements have been met and scores them based on need and responses.  Awards are made in early summer for the fall semester.

Recipients of the scholarships are honored at the branch’s fall luncheon, which kicks off the program year.  The awardees are members of the branch for the year and encouraged to join programs and activities as their time allows.  AAUW encourages them to continue their membership to lend a hand to those that follow and to make lasting friendship and ties to help guide their futures.

Our 2014 Scholarship Winners

Click here to view a list of all our scholarship recipients.