

American Association Of University Women

Harrisburg Branch Empowering Women Since 1921

AAUW Harrisburg Announces 2020-21 Scholarship Winners

The Scholarship Committee met on July 22 via Zoom to determine this year's recipients of the four endowed scholarships offered by the Harrisburg Branch. This year's candidates included a robust field of nine qualified applicants who completed a total of 16 applications for the four available scholarships. After reviewing both academic eligibility and financial need, the committee is pleased to announce the following:

- The 2020-21 Member Memorial Scholarship (\$1,000) is awarded to Peace Okiye of Harrisburg who will be a junior at Temple University. In addition to excelling at her studies, Peace, who aspires to be a physician, is actively involved with Siyanda Girls, a Harrisburg-based community organization focused on mentoring girls of color.
- The 2020-21 Sally Chamberlain Scholarship (\$1,500) is awarded to Mikeisha Mobley of Harrisburg who will be a senior at Millersville University. Mikeisha embodies the spirit of the Chamberlain award which seeks to aid women who, "through education, are seeking to advance in current careers or reentering the workforce." After initially obtaining a certificate in cosmetology in 2013 and working as she earned an associate's degree from HACC in 2018, Mikeisha has returned to pursue her Bachelor's degree in social work.
- The 2020-21 Krausse STEM Scholarship (\$1,500) is awarded to Rebecca Goldinger of New Cumberland. Rebecca will be a junior at Millersville University majoring in biochemistry. Rebecca cites her high school chemistry teacher, Mrs. Sellers, as a role model in the STEM field and an inspiration for her to pursue a career in the sciences.
- The 2020-21 Beverly Smith Scholarship (\$2,500) is awarded to Emma Raich of Camp Hill who will be a junior at Penn State.
 Emma hopes to fulfill Beverly Smith's vision of helping others by entering the medical field as a biomedical researcher.

Please join the committee in welcoming and celebrating these four talented young women.

#####